Foolproof lemon cake

Fool-proof lemon cake

When life throws you a lemon or two, I say, make a moist, tangy lemon drizzle cake. Or a mighty tasty lemon curd. Don’t waste it on a tequila shot because that stuff is rank.

For a long time, I had totally no confidence in my cake baking ability. My cakes rarely came out right. It was always either too dry, too sweet, too sunken, too eggy, you get the drift. I still doubt myself as baking can be a bloody fickle science. Until, I came across this recipe – Monica’s Lemon Drizzle Cake. Lo and behold, perfect, moist and overly scrummy cake every. single. time!

I have reduced the amount of sugar from the original recipe slightly as I don’t like my cakes sickly sweet. If you are not a big fan of the sharpness of lemons, I highly recommend using Meyer lemons as they are pleasantly sweet.

One word of caution, this cake may disappear sooner than you think. This cake keeps really well too as the drizzle helps maintain moisture.

INGREDIENTS
185g self-raising flour
150g caster sugar
125g butter, softened
4 tablespoon milk
2 large eggs
2 medium lemons, zested

DRIZZLE
8 tablespoon sugar
8 tablespoon lemon juice

METHOD
1. Preheat oven to 170C. Grease and flour or line a loaf tin.
2. Beat butter and caster sugar until creamy. Gradually add eggs in. I like to add my eggs beaten up in small additions or one egg at a time.
3. Once mixture is pale and fluffy, add milk, and lemon zest. Beat until just combined.
4. Gently fold in flour. Pour mixture into loaf tin and bake for 40-50 minutes or until skewer comes out clean.
5. While cake is in the oven, in a small saucepan, heat sugar and lemon juice over medium heat until sugar is dissolved.
6. When cake is ready, prick a few holes with a skewer. Pour drizzle over and leave the cake to cool in the pan.
7. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

